Patches

Sometimes you have to patch cracks on brass instruments. If I can find a new part or can make one, I will do that before I use a patch because patches are usually somewhat unsightly and amateurish looking. But if I have no choice, then I’ll make a patch…but I’ll be a little artistic about it.

For instance, in the above picture, I made a patch on the back turn of a Selmer k-modified trumpet. I cut the patch into the same diamond shape as the braces. While the patch is still obvious, it looks a little better than just throwing a regular oval patch on the crack.

The most useful patch technique I’ve used so far is making a patch that completely circles the cracked tube. If you do it carefully, you can sometimes end up with your patch looking like it was originally supposed to be there.

Can you see the patch?

Leave a Reply

